How to Live: Montaigne on Enjoying a Life with Intensity

A great excerpt from a philosopher I admire, and some insightful analysis of his thought.

The Bully Pulpit

Michel de Montaigne

“When I dance, I dance. When I sleep, I sleep; and when I am strolling alone through a beautiful orchard, although part of the time my thoughts are occupied by other things, for part of the time too I bring them back to the walk, to the orchard, to the delight in being alone there, and to me…

To enjoy life requires some husbandry. I enjoy it twice as much as others, since the measure of our joy depends on the greater or lesser degree of our attachment to it. Above all now, when I see my span so short, I want to give it more ballast; I want to arrest the swiftness of its passing by the swiftness of my capture, compensating for the speed with which it drains away by the intensity of my enjoyment. The shorter my lease of it, the deeper and fuller I must make it.”

View original post 525 more words

One thought on “How to Live: Montaigne on Enjoying a Life with Intensity

Leave a Reply

